Announcement of the ISB awards 2015

Posted on September 30, 2014

As the ISB award officer it is an honor to me to announce four awards which will be assigned by the ISB during the forthcoming 25th ISB Congress held in Glasgow in 2015.

David Winter Young Investigator Award (DWYIA)

Best Podium & Best Poster of the ISB 2015 Conference

There are two DWYIA presented in honour of Professor David Winter and his pioneering contribution to the science and application of biomechanics. One is for the best oral presentation and the other for the best poster presentation given at the 25th Congress of ISB held in Glasgow 2015. The award recipients are offered a certificate, a monetary award of US$ 750.

Requirements: Candidates must be the first author of an abstract submitted for presentation, have a maximum age of 35 at the first day of the congress, and must have made the major contribution to the research presented in the abstract. If selected for the final round, the candidate must personally present the paper (whether oral or poster) at the ISB-congress. The abstracts for this competition are solicited with the call for papers of the ISB Congress.


Clinical Biomechanics Award (CBA)

Requirements: Any scientist may submit an abstract for the award. The abstract must describe a study related to a clinical problem and contain some form of biomechanical analysis pertaining to the clinical problem. The content must be entirely original, not published at the time of the ISB-congress nor submitted for publication to any Book or Journal other than Clinical Biomechanics.

Procedure: Applicants have to indicate their application for the CBA during abstract submission to the 25th congress of ISB. From the abstracts submitted, 5 are selected and nominated for the award. The authors of the 5 selected abstracts are requested to submit a full length paper prepared according to the guidelines of Clinical Biomechanics. A jury will evaluate the full papers and select the winning paper. The first author of the winning paper is expected to give a 20 min plenary session of the winning paper at the 2015 ISB congress.

The winning paper will be published as the ISB Clinical Biomechanics Award paper in Clinical Biomechanics (subject to a normal peer review process). The first author of the winning paper will receive a certificate and a monetary award of US$ 1250.


Promising Scientists Award (PSA)

The Promising Scientist award, sponsored by MotionAnalysis, is designed to acknowledge people who have performed superior biomechanics research early in their career. It entails a certificate and a monetary award of US$ 5000 for scientific purposes, such as visiting another research group to collaborate on a project. The winner of the award is expected to give a 30 min. plenary presentation over the recent studies that have contributed to the award at the 25th ISB Congress in Glasgow.

Requirements: To be eligible for the award, a candidate must (1) be a member of the ISB, (2) be at a relatively early stage of his or her scientific career in Biomechanics, and (3) be no more than 5 years post PhD degree.

Procedure: Each candidate must submit his or her full curriculum vitae, identify at least two first author full articles in peer reviewed scientific journals that he or she has written in a single area of Biomechanics, and provide interpretative summaries describing the contribution of each article.

Deadline: Applications for the award are to be sent to the ISB Awards Officer, Prof Catherine Disselhorst-Klug ( by February 28, 2015.


Emerging Scientists Award [ESA]

The Emerging Scientist Award, sponsored by Professor Carlo J De Luca, honors excellence in graduate research in the area of motor control and electromyography and is associated with a monetary award of $US 2,500. The winners will present in the award’s session at that 2015 ISB Congress

Requirements: Candidates must be at a very early stage of their scientific career and to be eligible must not have received their PhD degree before the 2013 ISB Congress. Current graduate students, including MSc level students, are also eligible.

Procedure: You have to send your abstract to the award officer Professor Catherine Disselhorst-Klug. The abstract must be in the area of motor control/electromyography. You are also requested to submit an up to date curriculum vitae and PDF copies of two of your refereed publications in the area of motor control / electromyography. Please note: Additionally, you are also required to submit your abstract simultaneously to the ISB congress organisers.

Deadline: Please send your applications to Prof Catherine Disselhorst-Klug ( by February 28, 2015.


Further information:

You can find additional information about the ISB awards on the ISB-Homepage ( For further information you are welcome to contact me directly.

Prof. Dr. Catherine Disselhorst-Klug, PhD.
Department of Rehabilitation- & Prevention Engineering
Institute of Applied Medical Engineering, RWTH Aachen University
Pauwelsstr. 20, D-52074 Aachen, Germany

Tagged as: Comments Off
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Trackbacks are disabled.