Did You Know? – From the Archives – March, 2013

Posted on March 21, 2013

The ISB Congresses are held every other year.  At these conferences a number of awards are presented.  In 1983 at the IX Congress, held at the University of Waterloo, a new award was initiated the Young Investigator Award.  The award was designed to recognize the outstanding work of one of the students at the conference.  That first award was presented to Fred Yeadon from Loughborough University in the UK.  Fred’s work was titled “The production of a sustained aerial twist during a somersault without the use of asymmetrical arm action.“.  Fred on graduation moved to the University of Calgary, and then returned to Loughborough where he is currently a Professor.  He has had, and is still having, a distinguished career in biomechanics, and was recently elected as an honorary member of the ISB.

The award was eventually expanded to make two awards: one for a student making an oral presentation, and another for a student making a poster presentation.  At the XIII Congress in 1991 in Perth, Western Australia, the oral presentation award was presented to Art Kuo, and the poster presentation award to Tim Koh.  Art Kuo’s work was titled “A biomechanical analysis of muscle strength as a limiting factor in standing posture“; Art is now a Professor at the University of Michigan.  Tim Koh’s work was titled “Minimising cross talk in surface electromyograms“; Tim is now an Associate Professor at the University of Illinois, Chicago.  Both of these papers were published in a special issue of the Journal of Biomechanics (Volume 26, Supplement 1, 1993).

To be considered for this award you must have submitted an abstract for the ISB Congress, be the intended presenter (first author), and be under the age of 35 on the first day of the conference.  As a point of comparison the average age of the competitors at the 2012 Olympics Games was 26.  There is multi-tier selection process, with the final judging being based on the presentations of shortlisted applicants at the Congress.

In 1983 when Fred Yeadon won the award, one of the congress organizers was David Winter.  To honor David Winter and his pioneering contribution to the science and application of biomechanics, the two young investigator awards have been renamed in his honor.  So at the XXIV Congress in Natal, we will have two recipients, one for an oral and one a poster presentation, of the David Winter Young Investigator Awards.

The table provides a record of previous Young Investigator Award winners.

Year Oral Presentation Poster Presentation
2011 Cameron Brown  (UK) Mathieu Davis  (USA)
2009 Sandra Jasinoski  (South Africa) Renate List  (Switzerland)
2007 Veerle Segers  (Belgium) Philippe Malcolm  (Belgium)
2005 Emma A. C. Johnson  (UK) Veronica J. Santos  (USA)
2003 Jeremy LaMothe  (Canada) Keith Gordon  (USA)
2001 Steven Boyd  (Canada) Paul Hodges  (Australia)
1999 Frances Sheehan  (USA) Daniel Lambertz  (France)
1997 Kenneth Meijer  (The Netherlands) Mika K. Rand  (USA)
1993 Caroline Nicol  (Finland) Felix Eckstein  (Germany)
1991 Arthur D. Kuo  (USA) Timothy J. Koh  ( USA )
1989 Oliver Mills  (USA) Cheryl Johnson  (Canada)
1983 M.R. (Fred) Yeadon  (UK)

Note there are few gaps in our records, if you know the names of any of the missing awardees please contact me so we can complete our records.

[The ISB has an archive of its important materials, kept at Penn. State University.  If you have any materials you think should be in the archive, and you would consider donating them to the archive please contact John Challis (]

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

No trackbacks yet.