2017 Muybridge Award Winner: Walter Herzog

Posted on March 27, 2017

The Muybridge Award is presented at each congress to an individual for their “career achievements in biomechanics”, it is our society’s most prestigious award.  The award is named after Eadweard Muybridge (1830-1904), who was one forefathers of modern biomechanics with his recordings of various aspects of animal movement.  A committee reviewed the nominees for the 2017 award, and the selection was Dr. Walter Herzog for his outstanding contributions to biomechanics research, the development of biomechanics worldwide, and contributions to the ISB.  At the 2017 Congress Walter will be presented with the Muybridge Medal, and deliver the accompanying lecture.

Dr. Walter Herzog did his undergraduate training in Physical Education at the Federal Technical Institute in Zurich, Switzerland (1979).  In 1979 he moved the US to study with Jim Hay, completed his doctoral research in biomechanics at the University of Iowa (USA) in 1985.  He completed postdoctoral fellowships in Neuroscience and Biomechanics at the University of Calgary (Canada) in 1987.  Currently, Walter is a Professor of Biomechanics at the University of Calgary with appointments in Kinesiology, Medicine, Engineering, and Veterinary Medicine.  He holds the Canada Research Chair for Cellular and Molecular Biomechanics, and is appointed to the Killam Memorial Chair for Inter-Disciplinary Research at the University of Calgary.

His research interests are in musculoskeletal biomechanics with emphasis on mechanisms of muscle contraction, and the biomechanics of joints with focus on mechanisms of onset and progression of osteoarthritis.  Within these areas, his work is carried out experimentally and theoretically at the molecular/cellular levels using in vitro, in situ, and in vivo preparations.  Walter has published fours books, with one in its third edition, and over 500 papers.  In recognition of his research Walter has been the recipient of many awards including the Borelli Award from the American Society of Biomechanics and the Career Award from the Canadian Society for Biomechanics.  He is the past president of the American and Canadian Societies for Biomechanics, and was recently inducted into the Royal Society of Canada.

From 2007 to 2008 Walter served as the President of the ISB.  In 2015 he was appointed a fellow of the ISB.  He was a co-organizer of the 1999 ISB Congress hosted in Calgary, and he is the co-organizer of the 2019 Congress also to be hosted in Calgary.

We congratulate Walter on winning the 2017 Muybridge Award and look forward to his Muybridge Award lecture during the 2017 Congress in Brisbane.

Tagged as: Comments Off
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Trackbacks are disabled.