ISB Council Elections

Posted on March 29, 2015

Every two years, ISB members elect a new Executive Council and a President-Elect. The Executive Council members are elected for a 2-year term, with a maximum of three terms, and represent countries from throughout the world and various scientific areas within biomechanics. The Executive Council meets every year and provides leadership for the continued development of the Society and oversees the many on-going activities that are performed by Council appointed sub-committees, including activities in Economically Developing Countries, student grants and communication via ISB NOW. The President-Elect is responsible for coordinating the proposals for the 2019 ISB Congress and will become President in 2017. Student members of ISB elect a student representative to the Executive Council.


Detailed information about the duties of the various officers can be found in the Operating Codes of the ISB, which I recommend for browsing. You will be surprised by the complexity of what goes on behind the scenes at ISB.

Candidates for President-Elect for the 2015-2017 term are, in alphabetical order:

  1. Joseph Hamill, USA
  2. António Veloso, Portugal

Candidates for Executive Council Member for the 2015-2017 term are, in alphabetical order:

  1. Daniel Benoit, Canada
  2. Thor Besier, New Zealand
  3. Felipe Carpes, Brazil
  4. Ed Chadwick, United Kingdom
  5. Catherine Disselhorst-Klug, Germany
  6. Taija Finni, Finland
  7. Kenton Kaufman, USA
  8. Bart Koopman, Netherlands
  9. Art Kuo, USA
  10. Alberto Leardini, Italy
  11. Zong-Ming Li, USA
  12. Glen Lichtwark, Australia
  13. António Veloso, Portugal

This issue of ISB NOW contains a brief profile of the candidates. The online voting procedure will be conducted during the next month. You will receive email notification that voting has started, together with detailed instructions related to the voting process. You will be asked to vote for one President-Elect and nine Executive Council Members. Dr. Veloso is a candidate for both President-Elect and Council Member and you may vote for him in both places.

Please vote! We want to make sure that the ISB Council represents the interests of all members.


Ton van den Bogert, Past President

Tagged as: Comments Off
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Trackbacks are disabled.