2015 Muybridge Award Winner: Kai-Nan An

Posted on March 31, 2015


As Past-President of ISB, one of my more enjoyable duties this year was to chair the selection committee for the 2015 Muybridge Award. I was assisted by two former Muybridge Award winners, Peter Cavanagh and Benno Nigg, and by John Challis, the current President of ISB.

The Muybridge Award is the most prestigious award given by the International Society of Biomechanics and is given for career achievements in the field of biomechanics. Eadweard Muybridge (1830-1904) was the first to capture motion using high-speed photography, thus laying the foundation for the development of modern biomechanics. Previous winners of the award are listed here.

The committee considered a shortlist of 8 nominees. Dr. Kai-Nan An was unanimously selected because of his exceptional impact on the field of biomechanics. A quantitative measure of this impact is the staggering amount of more than 20,000 citations of his published work. It was also noted that this impact occurred across a broad area in biomechanics, ranging from fundamentals of musculoskeletal modeling to very specialized and applied questions in orthopedics of the lower and upper extremity. His work has not only impacted biomechanics, but also the clinical practice of orthopedics.

Kai-Nan An received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering and applied mechanics in 1975 from Lehigh University in Bethlehem, PA. He is the Director (1993-present) of the Orthopedic Biomechanics Laboratory at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN, and Professor of Bioengineering, Mayo Medical School. He was named the John and Posy Krehbiel Professor of Orthopedics, Mayo Medical School, in 1993. He has co-authored more than 800 scientific articles and book chapters, most appearing in peer-reviewed journals.

Dr. An’s research interests include biomechanics, biomaterials, imaging, wheelchair propulsion, orthopedics and rehabilitation. He has been awarded numerous grants from NIH and industry, and his collaboration with other institutions stretches across the globe, most recently to Asia and Europe.

Dr. An has received several awards from various societies, including the You-Li Chou Medal from the Taiwanese Society of Biomechanics, the Borelli Award from the ASB, the Distinguished Alumnus Award from National Cheng-Kung University, the Neer Award from ASES, the Kappa Delta Award from AAOS, and was named as a Fellow of the ASME in 2007. He is a founding member of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, and actively serves as a mentor and advisor to graduate students and research fellows, as well as various medical and engineering organizations.

We congratulate Dr. An on winning the 2015 Muybridge Award and look forward to his Muybridge Award lecture during the 2015 Congress of the ISB.

Ton van den Bogert

Past President, ISB

Tagged as: Comments Off
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Trackbacks are disabled.